Please Notice: Welcome to our new forums! You will need to reset your password in order to login. Thank you - PA Team!

17.00.91- File "Move" = folder delete



  • I notice that this continues to be a problem. To recap:-

    I have a .zipx archive, to which I wish to move all files in a folder.

    If, under Miscellaneous settings, I do NOT have “Enable Advanced Add…” checked (i.e. simple Add screen), when I select the files and Move them, they disappear from the folder, thus leaving an empty folder. This is what I would expect when I am selecting files within the folder and not the folder.

    However, if I tick the “Enable Advanced Add…” option and use that screen to Move the files, the effect is to move the files and also delete their folder. In other words, the Move action moves the containing folder as well as the files. If just one file is unselected and left in the folder, then the folder is not deleted.

    If I had selected “Move” for the folder (not the files), then I would expect the folder to be moved (deleted) from the folder/directory structure and into the archive. This is, however, not satisfactory when I wish to Move all the files in the folder to the archive, but leaving an empty folder for future use.

    I have tested this using different parameters in each of the two Add screens e.g. store paths, don’t store paths etc. but there isn’t any difference in how the screens operate.


  • Alpha Testers

    @pa_fan I used the PA explorer (view Explorer display style), left side folders, right side the files of an opened archive. I moved all files of that archive to the other…(right to left dual screen) no problem, the emptied folder is still present. And then removed the files back to their original archive. (PA 2017.00.91 - simulations with advanced add not enabled and enabled).



  • @pirrbe said in 17.00.91- File "Move" = folder delete:

    @pa_fan I used the PA explorer (view Explorer display style), left side folders, right side the files of an opened archive. I moved all files of that archive to the other…(right to left dual screen) no problem, the emptied folder is still present. And then removed the files back to their original archive. (PA 2017.00.91 - simulations with advanced add not enabled and enabled).

    Interesting. I’ll try that out of interest. I do find the Explorer view in the archive window not the best method for the way I have things arranged, and I don’t especially find the multiple narrow panes to be that easy to work with.

    However, it still leaves the problem I mention above, in the case where I’m working with two open PA windows; one being the open folder and the other the Advanced add window. I find this method (whether using either of the two Add windows) far easier on my system, with my folder tree layouts.

    This isn’t a new problem, as it came up in my testing for 17.00 at the early part of the year. I reported it against 17.00.55, and, looking at the post, it remain marked as “Unsolved”.

    https://forums.powerarchiver.com/topic/5711/17-00-55-zipx-move-and-replace-files


  • conexware

    hmmm, tested again. tested creating zipx various ways, with enabled/disabled advanced add window, selecting all files inside a folder and Moving them into a zipx archive, empty folder stayed empty(not deleted) in each case.

    How exactly are you compressing? I’ll try the exact same way


  • Alpha Testers

    @mili PA_Fan, héee… do you open two sessions of PA and each with a diff configuration ?? (able/unable add win).



  • @pirrbe Nope.



  • @mili

    Test folder, 6 files.
    Move 5 files to test archive per settings in shots 1 and 2 and selection in shot 3
    Folder remains with 1 file left
    Move remaining file per next shot. Note that the folder and file boxes are bold-ticked.
    File moves, folder disappears.

    Only one instance of PA running.

    If I use the “Simple” add window, I can perform exactly the same steps, but after the last file is moved, the folder remains.

    0_1502712158320_Move1.JPG
    0_1502712169425_Move2.JPG
    0_1502712179708_Move4.JPG
    0_1502712201230_Move7.JPG


  • conexware

    got it, it occurs when selecting files via the Select files/folders button.
    Does not occur when D&D files inside.

    Thanks very much for the details, logging it in



  • I got hit by something like this, I think, today. 17.00.92, 64-bit. Using PA Scheduler / script once a week to archive (ie move) files over 35 days old into zipx – which has been happening without incident for months. This morning’s run deleted the source folders, complete with newer – unarchived – content. Files lost irretrievably as a result. :(


  • conexware

    @oblivion

    The Backup application does not have the Action field as the Add window does, where you can select to either Move/Add/Update/Freshen the archive. That option is available in the Add window

    Maybe you have the “Delete original files after backup” selected?

    You can send us the .pbs script to support at conexware dot com and we can check it out to see why the files were/are deleted


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to PowerArchiver Forums was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.