2010 11.50.30 - Folder deletion



  • Win XP SP3

    I have been working on a Zip where I have added files from a folder to it with these selection settings:-

    • Add Folder
    • Move (and replace) files
    • Method LZMA
    • Compression Maximum
    • Include subfolders
    • Don’t store paths

    All other options unchecked, and profile is ZIP Default.

    When I use these settings, my files are moved from the source folder into the Zip. HOWEVER, that source folder is also DELETED. This is not helpful where for example I have a folder called, for example “Daily Letters” in which I create a bunch of day’s stuff, then move it to Zip leaving the folder ready for the next day’s work.


  • conexware

    few weeks ago someone complained about folder not being deleted :-).

    It is hard life trying to please everyone.



  • Sorry about that - as a software developer I know the feeling!

    The main problem I have with this is that in previous versions the file-oriented approach was used i.e. moving moved the files but left behind an empty folder. If the approach is now to move and delete both files and folders then our working methods will have to change.

    I must say that the previous method which used “folder” as a convenient method of identifying a group of files therein ready for moving is far more logical in my view than the present “move/delete folder” approach.



  • I have tested this some more and have some odd results.

    First, I create a new zip and move files from my folder Outex (a subfolder of My Documents) to it. The files move and Outex remains. Settings are as mentioned before.

    I do the same for the folder Exout, and Exout disappears.

    There is one inconsistency. I have used both Exout and Outex before, so I have them available from the Add folder dropdown. When I do the second add to Exout, I select it and my chosen folder appears as OUTEX. When I go back again and select Exout again, I then get both folders in my add list, from which I remove Outex. Thereafter the Move removes Exout!



  • The reason one folder stayed and the other went is that one is R/Only and the other ain’t.

    Which leaves the original problem or question of whether to delete folder and contents or just contents. Plus the dropdown/folder selection inconsistency.


  • conexware

    @PA_Fan:

    There is one inconsistency. I have used both Exout and Outex before, so I have them available from the Add folder dropdown. When I do the second add to Exout, I select it and my chosen folder appears as OUTEX. When I go back again and select Exout again, I then get both folders in my add list, from which I remove Outex. Thereafter the Move removes Exout!

    so basically first time same folder is added, ok we will check it out.

    as to the folder - you are moving folder, and many people complained before that if folder is being moved, it shouldnt be there anymore just like when you do it in explorer.

    I personally dont like folders being moved or I actually dont like moving of anything because some kind of error might happen and then what.


 

5
Online

9.8k
Users

6.0k
Topics

36.6k
Posts

Copyright © 1998-2018 ConeXware, Inc.
All rights reserved. Privacy Policy